Db1264's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Life with constant pain September 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — db1264 @ 5:17 pm

What a weekend we just had. It was wonderful, I am not complaining by any means. Our lives have been so richly blessed because of a negative influence leaving our home. That may sound strange, I’m sure, but for us, it is true.

As for me and what’s been going on recently, well to say nothing would not be true. I am loving life again because I get to be a stay-at-home mom and take care of things as best I can. Most of the heavy-duty housework is now left up to my wonderful husband because of my ongoing medical condition. Fortunately I am not incapacitated and can help out when I am not in any pain…which until just a couple of days ago was not the case.

I have upped my dosage of the pain medication (hydrocodone) – 1 pill was not working for me and I decided to take a pill and 1/2. I am still in some pain, but nothing like I had been. I’m sure my doctor will not like to hear what I have done, but I will have to tell him if I am unsuccessful at finding a pain clinic that can help me manage my pain with medication(s). I have an appointment with a gastroenterologist on the 20th, and I just may ask them to prescribe me something in the event that I do not find a pain clinic.

Most pain clinics around here only take on cases of back/spine and joint pain, not abdominal pain. So, if my current physician refuses to refill the pain medicine he recently prescribed for me, I will have no choice but to seek it from the gastroenterologist. I am at a complete loss as to why I am not able to get the relief I need, I have been in constant pain for almost 18 months now, and alternative medications do not work for me nor does anything over-the-counter.

I can’t lie and say I have back pain, the medication would not be the correct thing and I refuse to take something that will not help.

