Db1264's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

I’m sick and tired July 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — db1264 @ 6:25 pm

I’m sick and tired of bad language, no matter how it’s spelled out. When it comes to saying how cute a kid is, ‘effin’ is not an appropriate word to use. I’m getting to the point where I don’t want to be on facebook at all, ever because I can’t block my friends and family because I want to see them, their children, their families.

 But when I am bombarded with ‘f’ this and ‘f’ that, I get sick of it and really, really angry and disappointed that this is what today’s society deems as acceptable. It’s ok to drop the ‘f’ bomb where it will be forever immortalized in writing. Once it’s out there and everyone sees it, even if it’s deleted, it is not entirely erased from the memories of everyone who has read it. We ALL know what ‘effin’ really means. Please, let’s not go there, honestly. Kids are not ‘effin’ anything. That’s just morally repugnant.

 I don’t use those words. I might get upset, but I try my best not to offend anyone, and perhaps that’s my problem. I don’t want to be so politically correct that I don’t ever say a bad word, but when every other picture I see of a small child has ‘effin’ in it, I tend to see red and get really PISSED off. I can say ‘pissed off’ because I’m not using it in the context of a child or on a child’s picture.

 I know these are your friends, and that’s how they roll, but not me. I swear, if anyone posts a comment that my daughter is too ‘effin’ cute, you’d better believe that whomever says it will be blocked and unfriended from ever seeing any pictures of my child. So don’t even go there.

 Please, think about what you’re saying before you put it out there for God and everyone in the whole wide world to see. Seriously. Oh, and if you think this about you, maybe you need to rethink.

This whole rant (note on facebook) got started because a friend of my son’s said, and I quote, “effin love it danny!!!” – it got me very upset, angry, pissed off and just plain mad! I know kids (young adults, and I use the term ‘adult’ loosely) just don’t care how they come across as ignorant and repugnant to their friends. This kind of language is accepted and I believe expected of them, something I have despised and quite personally take offense to. Always have, always will. I don’t think it’s necessary, when commenting on a child’s photo, that ‘effin’ should be used. Like I said in my note, we all know what ‘effin’ is short for and it’s morally repugnant to me.

I mentioned it to my husband, and he said there’s nothing I can do about it and shouldn’t say anything, which I didn’t, at least not publicly. I know my son would come back with some comment that this is how his friends talk and he’s ok with it. Well, I’m not. Never have been, never will be. I even so much as threatened to block and unfriend anyone who makes such a comment regarding my child. I won’t stand for it and I don’t have to.

I thought blogging about this would make me feel better. But it hasn’t. I can’t get it off my mind, and every time I go to look at the picture, I get pissed off all over again. I’m not going to delete the post, because I really like the picture. And I want to report the person for her comment, but facebook doesn’t allow for that, so I’m stuck with it.

That’s what I get for being an older mom.

